Colonoscopy results

Well, I feel like I’ve gone through a lot of torment, having not eaten since Friday evening (it’s 5pm on Monday now), and not to get the magic answer to my issue! But that’s life with a systemic disease for you. The test itself wasn’t too bad; it was a sigmoidoscopy rather than full colonoscopy, and it certainly was nowhere near as bad as having a gastroenteroscopy as I did a few years ago!

In the test nothing much was found, which is good and bad: good of course because nothing major is going on, and bad because then I don’t get an answer to the issues that prompted the test! We were hoping it’s just inflammation due to the lupus. Because of all the color issues in the stool, liver involvement is possible, so that’ll probably be the next track to take. All they diagnosed today was confirming internal hemorrhoids, which are thankfully only Grade 1.

The actual test, as I said, wasn’t too bad; it was mostly a lot of waiting in the department. I was told I might be in there for up to four hours, but I managed to get out in half that time. The test itself was only about 10-15 minutes long. There was some pain as the scope turned corners of the bowel, but it wasn’t too unbearable and each wave passed fairly quickly. I could see the images on the screen, although fairly blurry because I didn’t have my glasses on, which was cool. As both an anatomist and a chronic illness patient, I find it all very fascinating; when my surgical wound opened and my bowel came through last year, I thought it was very interesting and fascinating, albeit somewhat worrying!

By the time I was waiting before the test, my blood pressure had dropped quite low, and I was feeling pretty ill by now, especially because my sinus tachycardia has been flaring quite badly for a few days. (I always warn nurses as they take my blood pressure, as they inevitably think I’m very anxious.) I began to hallucinate a chair moving across the floor, haha – it didn’t even have wheels! They offered me to stay at the end for tea or coffee, but I was just eager to get home and eat! And I’m glad to say I enjoyed a mince pie (a meat pie, not the Christmas treat :P) for my dinner!

It was definitely worth having the test anyway, as it’s invaluable to know that your bowel is healthy or not. So many bowel issues go undiagnosed because people are embarrassed or play down symptoms to themselves, but doctors really have seen just about anything. Having been on the other side of a clinical setting as well as a patient, I can honestly say that you shouldn’t be embarrassed; but even if you are, your health is worth more, and also that people will generally need more invasive care if they leave symptoms unchecked and they develop into something more.

About wolfennacht

I'm a 25 year old disabled polyglot who mainly spends time writing novels and poetry, teaching myself languages, and reading too much. I use a wheelchair. I am currently a grad student in biomedical science. I mainly blog about my physical and mental illnesses and procrastinate writing on my crochet blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Colonoscopy results

  1. klivingproof says:

    Hey! I’m happy to hear that your results didn’t indicate anything super scary/deadly, but at the same time, it can be so frustrating when there’s nothing concrete that can be treated so I really feel for you there ❤

    This actually helped ease some of my concerns re: the procedure. It's great that you have the academic background which enables you to see things as a patient but also a scientist. That's comforting to me. I'm used to only hearing stories about the procedures from my parents. (And it's great that you have the patient/anatomist background in all aspects of your illness. I think you can help a lot of people in a very unique, pragmatic and sensitive way and that is AWESOME.)

    I hope that pie tasted delicious! You earned it!! xx

    • wolfennacht says:

      Oh, it’s unfortunately a common thing with systemic lupus like this; it’s always a strange feeling to be disappointed with tests that come back negative, but it’s just because we want the answers!

      Aww, that’s great to hear. Having both perspectives is so helpful for me; going into hospital for anything is daunting enough for anyone, but knowing what to expect and how things are run in the hospital makes it easier for me as it’s not so much going into the unknown! It also means it helps me job-wise because I have that extra addition of the long-term patient perspective that many folks in clinical work don’t actually have!

      It was lovely, thanks! I’m still getting used to bigger meals again, but what a relief not to be starving all day, haha! My sister and I can actually talk about food again without me cursing her!

Leave a Reply

