Fitness plan modification!

Just a quick post to say that already on Day 2 of the fitness plan, I have decided to make a slight modification and add a “Stage 0”; unsurprisingly, going from being virtually house-bound to walking a half mile every day is something my body’s just not putting up with. If I didn’t have the lupus to think about, then yes, it would simply be a case of pushing it, but alas, it doesn’t work like that when your body’s systems malfunction. 😛 So instead of giving up, I am simply introducing this stage before I move onto the planned Stage 1, and this stage comprises exactly the same as Stage 1, just doing it on alternate days rather than every day. And when this becomes easier, then I can move on and do it every day. Unfortunately it means I’ve missed volunteering today; I may have been able to make it for a short time, but I have to travel to Glasgow tomorrow to see one of my doctors, and I know that going from struggling from one outing a week even here in Perth to three days in a row of activity would not work.

Being disabled and having a progressive chronic illness means life consists a lot of finding accommodations and modifications that work for you. Instead of feeling disappointed that I’ve already changed the plan to make it easier, I’m more confident that I will be able to work up as planned. Coming to terms with one’s disability means a lot of learning not to continue convincing yourself that there is some way to manage plans that deep down you know you either can’t manage or must work up to. I came to terms with the fact that I can’t pursue my dream career in forensic pathology and it’s made it a lot easier to find a new plan rather than say to myself that there is some way I’ll manage… And I know that while getting “fit” means I’m never going to be able to run or become Superman, by doing things based on my own experience and limits I will be able to find a plan that works for me – and I won’t feel guilty for having to modify things and ask for accommodations. Being disabled means we can’t base our abilities and limits on a non-disabled default.

About wolfennacht

I'm a 25 year old disabled polyglot who mainly spends time writing novels and poetry, teaching myself languages, and reading too much. I use a wheelchair. I am currently a grad student in biomedical science. I mainly blog about my physical and mental illnesses and procrastinate writing on my crochet blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fitness plan modification!

  1. I think that is a fabulous idea. It did seem a big jump to me but given you had talked it over with your team I didn’t say anything. Planning for the doc in advance is a good idea I think. I used to find that too. If I saw a medical person I would need a day either side to recover but it is important to remember everything you do seeing them that while it may not fit your plan exactly is still activity 🙂 I still struggle to accept that my base levels are lower than able bodied people’s. I think that partly comes from having invisible ailments. People expect me to be ok and able all the time. I’m still working on it but I think people like us blogging and repeating the message is a huge step.

    • wolfennacht says:

      Yep, it’s easy to overestimate yourself when you make up a plan with the OT and get excited about it!

      Oh, for all I say, I still sometimes struggle with my own “new normal” even though it’s been years. I think “Oh, but other people with lupus manage to go to the gym, run marathons, etc.” It’s a constant process, but it does make it easier when others repeat the message as you say; it helps assuage the guilt of not being able to keep up with a “non-disabled” standard!

Leave a Reply

