Fundraiser for my motorized wheelchair

Hi, everyone. I’ve mentioned my fundraiser before, but I thought I would give it its own post. I will say straight out that I’m aware many of us are pretty broke! I understand not many people have money to give, and I emphasize that this isn’t about pressuring any of my readers to fork out. I truly appreciate any shares. You can find the fundraiser here: http://www.youcaring.com/lupuswarrior I tried to put a widget on here a few weeks ago but it wasn’t working with the plugins and what not (maybe because I don’t have a paid account) and I thought a link is just as effective, right?!

The issues are summed up on the donation page, and most of you will know the case anyway. I currently use sticks and a manual wheelchair for mobility. Because my disease affects up upper body too, this is very hard on my upper joints. The wheelchair is great for giving my hips a break from the sticks, but unfortunately I’m severely injuring my shoulders and clavicular joints by propelling myself in the chair. If there’s no one to push me, and I’m unable to propel myself or use the sticks, then of course I’m house-bound. I plan to return to university this year to do my Masters in biomedical science. It’s been a few years now since I graduated in my anatomy degree, and unfortunately my mobility is much more limited now than it was then. As I’d be commuting about 50 miles, I will really struggle in the manual, which I can barely manage outdoors anyway; I’ve frequently been stuck, and have lost control on hills and gone out onto roads, luckily without accident. Although there are people in the disability service to give help, I will need help in general commuting and also out of hours, not to mention a life outside of uni, and a motorized wheelchair would give me so much independence back.

Please consider sharing the link to my fundraiser with your friends and family. Even if they don’t have pennies to spare, which I understand, they may pass it on to someone who does. I’m aware my chronically ill fellows are likely in similar positions with needing to raise money, and if you would like to send me your fundraisers, I am happy to share them in a master post and on my social media.

About wolfennacht

I'm a 25 year old disabled polyglot who mainly spends time writing novels and poetry, teaching myself languages, and reading too much. I use a wheelchair. I am currently a grad student in biomedical science. I mainly blog about my physical and mental illnesses and procrastinate writing on my crochet blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fundraiser for my motorized wheelchair

  1. Good luck, I don’t have the money to give but I’ll pass the link around and hopefully you can get the money.

Leave a Reply

