I knew my wheelchair was falling to bits!

Two posts in one day? I must be on a roll! Said roll came to a scary stop earlier when I lost a nut from one of my wheelchair’s front wheels! I was volunteering for RNIB again today, and got into the department just fine; in fact, I got out of the department just fine as well, but when I turned to go toward the bus stop, I noticed my chair was tipping quite dramatically. Thinking I’d run over a stone that was caught in the wheel, I leaned over and nearly fell out, as the front wheel on that side was hanging off. I called my mum, saying I didn’t know if I’d get home, as I was in the next town and my bus was imminent; luckily, my colleague helped me out–or tried, as between us I had my sticks, she had her guide dog, so pushing a chair on top of that wasn’t really working! I ended up using it like a Zimmer frame to get to the bus. Mum was picking me up at the other end anyway, so I didn’t have to use the chair again. I know I’m very lucky I could get up and walk to the bus, otherwise I’d have been somewhat stranded! I don’t actually know where I lost the nut; we think it was possibly when my sister and I hit a pothole recently. My dad has a garage in the garden where he does a lot of mechanic work, so we’re sure he has a nut to fit. I’m absolutely fine; it was just quite a big fright! I’m glad it happened as I slowed to turn a corner and I leaned down to investigate. I don’t want to know what might have happened had I been going down a hill or something! (At least I was outside a hospital, haha.)

This week has actually been quite busy for me, which is good! My mood’s been a bit all over the place, and to be perfectly honest, as I tweeted recently, (CN: self-harm)I probably would have relapsed with harming by now if I had more physical ability to clean up the mess of it. Lupus is good for something! Not being able to clean isn’t going to delay it indefinitely, but I’m thankful I’m still at that wibbly-wobbly stage. I feel much better today again, so I think I’ll still be swinging around a lot before it comes to a full-blown relapse, if it does. (end CN: self-harm) So, I’m quite happy to be keeping busy and getting out to keep my mood up just now.

I still have more to go this week. I have a voucher for a restaurant which expires tomorrow, so it looks like my sister and I are going out for food tomorrow! Only if I can manage though, because I do need to keep spoons for Saturday as I’m taking my niece and her sister to our local library for some activities that are on. While it’s nice to be busy, it’s very exhausting. The sooner I get motorized, the easier it will be, at least!

About wolfennacht

I'm a 25 year old disabled polyglot who mainly spends time writing novels and poetry, teaching myself languages, and reading too much. I use a wheelchair. I am currently a grad student in biomedical science. I mainly blog about my physical and mental illnesses and procrastinate writing on my crochet blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

