Independent advocacy visit

After mentioning my DLA (disability living allowance) appeal on Twitter, which I had about this time last year and was unsuccessful, a friend very kindly found out for me about the independent advocacy organization in my town. I wrote them an email which was effectively a self-referral, and yesterday I had an appointment to see one of the advocates.

I had an advocate from the local council at my appeal, but to be perfectly honest, I felt that she was fairly useless. I was very overwhelmed by the whole thing, especially when the panel made very dismissive comments about me, but she neither spoke up nor asked me if I had anything to say but was too nervous to speak up. Anyway, I’ll write about all that stuff at another point, as I do plan to write a post about my experience with benefits (DLA/PIP and ESA). So, as I may well end up going to appeal again this time round, I thought it couldn’t hurt to talk to this organization.

The woman was really nice! Although there isn’t really anything they can do at the moment, we had quite a long chat about my situation anyway. I explained that I had written to PIP months ago, yet they haven’t replied yet, so I called them; the woman who took my call said the benefits people would be in touch within 48 hours, but that was nearly three weeks ago now and still nada. I told her that I have some issues with the phone, so it took me a while to gain the courage to call them in the first place, and then I spent that day quite anxious of when they were going to call me back; at least when I make the call, I can decide when to do it. And it was for nothing, because of course they didn’t phone.

Basically she is going to close my file for the moment, until I get a date for the PIP assessment, which, truth be told, could be next year. I’m going to chase this up on the phone or get my sister to do it for me; this is just to get a copy of the application form! Then, as I did with my ESA form, I’ll talk to Citizens’ Advice who will help fill it in and then I’ll reconnect with the advocate to prepare for the assessment.

I ended up yapping away for so long, and apologized quite a few times for it! She didn’t mind though, saying I was very interesting and that she could have listened to me for hours! I talked about my long road to the lupus diagnosis, some things about my mental illness, and about my possible Asperger’s (self-diagnosed while various doctors and my psychologist agree but don’t necessarily want to “pathologize” it by going down the diagnosis route…) seeing as I was very much talking far too much, so it was a bit relevant there! She began to say “This might be cheeky but…” and I thought, “Oh, God, what crap is she going to come out with?” as though it was going to be something problematic about disability from a non-disabled person. Actually, she explained she has a course going in May where she trains new advocates, and she would like me to come to speak to them to give them a first-hand experience of living with disabilities and some of the problems that people will run into, like public transport access. I was quite flattered! I agreed, and so we will reconnect around April to get it going. I’m not really used to making such an impression on someone in a first meeting, and if I can help new advocates see a point of view they hadn’t considered, that’s great. As I said to the advocate, and she fully agreed with me, even with the best intentions and working in the field of disability advocacy, these people still don’t have a first-hand experience of disability! When I was in there talking about access in some fashion, she stopped and said she hadn’t considered that. (I think it was talking about when even a “low” drop kerb is not flat enough for me to get up on my own in the manual wheelchair, then I’m stuck on a road.)

I’m pretty happy and I’ll be glad to have her help in the assessment and/or appeal, even though they can’t actually add anything themselves; their job is basically to make sure I’m picking everything up, understand what’s going on, that I have said all I want to say, etc. As well, it’s the support aspect of having someone by your side. Medical assessments can be very daunting, and the appeal process definitely is. Knowing that someone is there with you doesn’t make you feel so small on the other side of the panel.

About wolfennacht

I'm a 25 year old disabled polyglot who mainly spends time writing novels and poetry, teaching myself languages, and reading too much. I use a wheelchair. I am currently a grad student in biomedical science. I mainly blog about my physical and mental illnesses and procrastinate writing on my crochet blog!
This entry was posted in Benefits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

