Poop! The forbidden topic

And typically, I’m jumping straight in with the “TMI” posts! Poop and anything associated with it is such a taboo topic even though everyone does it! For people like me who have illnesses of the bowel, it can be a pain in the butt (pun perhaps intended!) that no one seems to want to talk about it, even within chronic illness circles. Well, as there’s no limit here, here we go!

The reason I bring it up is that I’ve been having issues recently with bleeding from the colon. Sometimes it’s been within the stools themselves, and sometimes I notice upon wiping. In true downplaying lupie fashion, I wasn’t too worried at first. As the weeks went on and it kept happening, I also noticed the stools’ color changing, and a lot of pain when going; as I have IBS anyway, it can be hard to notice when something is abnormal for me, but I decided this was.

When the stools became very pale beige and pencil-like, I decided it was time to get to the doctor, encouraged by my Facebook support group. The doctor was lovely – it helps that as time goes on, I shed any shame about anything medical-related! – and found nothing upon examination, which she expected. She has referred me back to gastroenterology, and I should expect an appointment for colonoscopy soon, which is pretty much what I went for! All I can think is that it can’t be as bad as an endoscopy, which I had near the start of my lupus journey, and chose to have no sedation and was soon regretting it!

As I try to be open about these things, I was talking with my niece earlier about colonoscopy and what it is, and she’s very amused at the thought of them “taking pictures of my butt”! She turned six last month. I’m trying to talk more about my condition and the effects in everyday conversation with my family, to help them realize how intrusive and permanent it is, rather than keeping quiet. It’s a balance between oversharing, feeling like I’m whining, and just openly talking about health and reminding them that these issues are ongoing even if I’m not talking about them constantly.

Anyway, hopefully I’ll get some answers soon, and it’s nothing to worry about. It could just be inflammation, or something more serious. Until then I’m just keeping an eye on things and noting any changes.

I think that in general we need to be more open about bowel- and poop-related issues! (Of course, it’s an individual choice, and you certainly won’t see this article popping up on my personal Facebook page!) I still remember the relief of finding a friend with severe IBS and being able to discuss all our horrible symptoms together. šŸ™‚

About wolfennacht

I'm a 25 year old disabled polyglot who mainly spends time writing novels and poetry, teaching myself languages, and reading too much. I use a wheelchair. I am currently a grad student in biomedical science. I mainly blog about my physical and mental illnesses and procrastinate writing on my crochet blog!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Poop! The forbidden topic

  1. I really think people need to talk about things like this a lot more too. As I have endomitriosis I get horrid anal pain and no one wants to hear about that! It is hard enough getting them to look me in the eye talking about period pain and that is something every vagina owner goes through, ever mind something most don’t. I think it is great that you are talking about it because to start talking about helping people with these problems we, as a society, need to be able to talk about the symptoms without blushing or laughing. I’m glad your doctor was so helpful and I hope things return to ‘normal’ for you as it were before anything too invasive is required. šŸ™‚

    • wolfennacht says:

      Exactly! I have a friend who was talking to me recently about genital issues, and I was just thinking, “What’s the big deal? Why can’t more friends be open like this?” Everyone’s got bits and bums, lol! Thank you šŸ™‚ Hopefully the colonoscopy will provide the answer!

  2. klivingproof says:

    I’m so glad that you got the procedure, especially since there was blood! I’m even more glad that your life isn’t in danger because of it.

    I have supposed IBS-D which SUCKS because of the unpredictability. I have some particular food allergies and intolerances too but my doctor thinks there might be a few more. I should get the test though because there’s bowel cancer in the family.

    But yeah, it sucks and it can really impact your life. I love going to restaurants but it can be nerve racking when not 100% sure of what exactly is in what I’ve ordered and I hate using public restaurants for number twos! I don’t want to live in a share house because of it, sometimes it can limit my social life. I agree that this sort of stuff should be talked about more though. Bowel issues can be deadly and impact quality of life. Ditto with mental illness, endometriosis and Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome. For some reason, these subjects are taboo. We’re all adults here!

    • wolfennacht says:

      I was diagnosed with IBS years before the lupus; there’s a general overlap with so many autoimmune conditions that it’s hard to say when a separate diagnosis is warranted or whether the symptoms are just included within lupus! For example, my fibromyalgia diagnosis is more or less “revoked” because the label of lupus covers it.

      I too hate the unpredictability; I don’t have such identifiable trigger foods, so it hits me at such random occasions. I waver between constipation and diarrhea pretty much constantly, but it’s the agony with the worst episodes of diarrhea that’s hard; I’m good at bearing pain, but this has me doubled over, sweating like a pig.

      Oh, yes, I hate using public bathrooms full stop, never mind for Number 2s and problematic ones at that! Every time my sister and I are in a potentially embarrassing or uncomfortable situation, we say “Remember the bus station!”; once while waiting for a bus home, I was suffering so much with an IBS attack and had to go in the bus station, haha. Makes me want to start carrying baby wipes with me!!!

      It has made a massive difference to me to talk to friends who also have bowel issues, and people in my support group about these “taboo” topics. So many people suffer from bowel issues, endometriosis, mental issues etc. that I can’t fathom why they are so “taboo”. So I make it my mission to be open about my “TMI” issues and already people have told me it’s helpful. šŸ™‚ We all poo, for goodness’ sake. šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

